Storage options

Family

In Switzerland you have the option of storing your baby's stem cells, otherwise they will be wasted. Whether for your family or the community, your decision can make a life-saving difference.

The decision to opt for private or public storage of stem cells involves weighing these advantages against the costs and considering the current medical status, family medical history and limitations. Consulting with healthcare providers and understanding the current state of stem cell research can help families make informed choices.

Public

Contribute to the society by donating to a public bank, supporting research and saving lives.


  • Blood stem cells that are stored in public umbilical cord blood banks are entered in the public stem cell register and are available to patients worldwide.
  • Anyone who decides to donate stem cells does not have to expect any costs. The costs are covered by the public register.
  • Some families might opt for public donation rather than private storage, contributing their cord blood to public banks where it can be used by anyone in need of a matching donor. This option is often considered as acommunity service.

  • In Switzerland external donations of umbilical cord blood stem cells are currently only carried out in the following hospitals: Inselspital Bern, University Hospital Basel, Cantonal Hospital Aarau and HUG Geneva. Theblood is stored in the umbilical cord blood banks in Basel and Geneva.
  • The donating parents or the child itself do not have an exclusive right to the blood stem cells.
  • In public storage, only cord blood is stored, lacking the storage of valuable tissue-based stem cells like those found in the umbilical cord tissue or placenta, which limits potential therapeutic applications that tissuestem cells may offer.
  • The costs of collection and storage in the public cord blood bank are high, which is why only cord blood donations with a high stem cell content are stored in the public banks in Switzerland. This means that the umbilical cord blood is only actually stored in very few cases, even if the parents wish to donate it.

 

Private

Preserve Stem Cells exclusively for your family`s potential future medical needs.


  • Private storage ensures immediate accessibility to the stored cells when needed. There's no dependence on external registries or banks, and the cells are readily available for potential therapeutic use.
  • Possibility of storing the stem cells regardless of which hospital or birthing center the birth takes place.
  • The stored stem cells are reserved exclusively for personal or family use. This means that if a medical need arises within the family, the stored cells can potentially be used for treatment without having to search for a suitable donor.
  • Stem cells collected from a newborn's cord blood, cord tissue and placenta tissue are a perfect genetic match for the baby and potentially for siblings or other family members. This reduces the likelihood of rejection in caseof transplantation and can be crucial for certain diseases requiring stem cell transplants.
  • Research into the therapeutic applications of stem cells is ongoing. By storing these cells privately, families have access to ongoing clinical trials and potential future treatments that may harness the unique properties ofthese stem cells for various conditions.

  • If there is a genetic disease, it does not make sense to use your own stem cells with the same genetic defect. However, it may be possible to use the stem cells of a healthy sibling.
  • Private storage involves fees for collection, processing, and ongoing storage. With most Companies on the Swiss market it includes the storage of 25 or 50 years.

 

Scroll to Top

Options de stockage

Famille

En Suisse, vous avez la possibilité de conserver les cellules souches de votre enfant, sinon elles seront perdues. Que ce soit pour votre famille ou pour la collectivité, votre décision peut faire la différence pour sauver une vie.

Lors de la décision entre une conservation privée ou publique des cellules souches, les avantages devraient être évalués en fonction de l'état de santé actuel, des antécédents médicaux de la famille, des coûts et d'autres éventuelles restrictions. Une consultation médicale et la connaissance de l'état actuel
de la recherche sur les cellules souches peuvent aider les familles à prendre une décision éclairée.

Public

Faire un don à une banque publique sauve des vies et soutient la recherche.


  • Les cellules souches sanguines stockées dans les banques publiques de sang de cordon sont inscrites dans le registre public des cellules souches et sont disponibles pour les patients du monde entier.
  • Pour les personnes qui décident de faire un don de cellules souches, aucun coût n'est prévu. Les coûts sont couverts par le registre public.
  • Certaines familles optent pour un don public de sang de cordon au lieu d'un stockage privé, en le donnant à des banques publiques où il peut être utilisé par toute personne ayant besoin d'un donneur compatible. Cette option est souvent considérée comme un service rendu à la communauté.

  • En Suisse, les dons de cellules souches du cordon ombilical ne sont actuellement effectués que dans les hôpitaux suivants : Inselspital Bern, Hôpital universitaire de Bâle, Hôpital cantonal d'Aarau et HUG Genève. Le sang est conservé dans les banques de sang de cordon ombilical de Bâle et de Genève.
  • Les parents donneurs ou l'enfant lui-même n'ont pas de droit exclusif sur les cellules souches sanguines.
  • Dans le cadre du stockage public, seul le sang du cordon ombilical est stocké et non les précieuses cellules souches tissulaires, telles que celles présentes dans le tissu du cordon ombilical ou le placenta, ce qui limite les applications thérapeutiques possibles.
  • Les coûts du prélèvement et de la conservation dans la banque publique de sang de cordon ombilical sont élevés, c'est pourquoi en Suisse, seuls les dons de sang de cordon ombilical ayant une haute teneur en cellules souches sont stockés dans les banques publiques. Cela signifie que le sang de cordon ombilical n'est réellement stocké que dans très peu de cas, même si les parents souhaitent faire un don.

 

Privé

Conservez les cellules souches pour les besoins médicaux futurs de votre famille.


  • Le stockage privé garantit un accès immédiat aux cellules stockées en cas de besoin. Il n'y a pas de dépendance à l'égard de registres ou de banques externes et les cellules sont immédiatement disponibles pour une utilisation thérapeutique potentielle.
  • La possibilité de conserver les cellules souches indépendamment de l'hôpital ou de la salle d'accouchement où a lieu la naissance.
  • Les cellules souches stockées sont réservées à un usage personnel ou familial. Cela signifie qu'en cas de besoin médical au sein de la famille, elles peuvent être utilisées directement pour le traitement, sans avoir à rechercher un donneur compatible.
  • Les cellules souches prélevée dans le sang du cordon ombilical, le tissu du cordon ombilical et le tissu placentaire d'un nouveau-né sont génétiquement compatible avec l'enfant et éventuellement avec ses frères et soeurs ou d'autres membres de la famille.
  • La recherche sur les applications thérapeutiques des cellules souches est très active. En les conservant en privé, les familles ont accès aux essais cliniques et aux futurs traitements potentiels qui exploitent les propriétés uniques de ces cellules pour traiter diverses maladies.

  • En présence d'une maladie génétique, n'a pas de sens d'utiliser ses propres cellules souches présentant la même anomalie génétique.En revanche, il est possible d'utiliser les cellules souches d'un frère ou d'une soeur en bonne santé.
  • La conservation privée implique des dépenses pour la collecte, le traitement et le stockage continu.La plupart des entreprises présentes sur le marché suisse prévoient une conservation de 25 ou 50 ans.

 

Défilement vers le haut